Regular Poem: Dream Car

25 Apr

A girl I knew
a long time ago
at least once
said
her dream car was
a Honda Accord.

She had reasons
and she talked
with her hands
with such passion.

I was a child then
and she was an older child
a teen maybe,
and now as an adult

I hope she has that Accord.
I bet
she does.

I didn’t appreciate it
then.
I didn’t understand
that she meant goal
rather than fantasy
when she said
dream,

and that’s such
an admirable attainable
position to take

though rather boring
in a conversation including
monster trucks and limousines
and Corvettes,

but even amidst
the din of adolescent voices
raising up praises
to vehicles real and imagined
each more grand than the last

only the Accord remains
in my memory
and the fervor with which
she extolled and explained.
She took a hard stance
based on evidence and experience–
concrete details instead of
hope and wonder
and whatever was shiniest and most expensive
and seen on tv by
young stupid eyes.

She didn’t sell me on it,
and I’d probably still like
the monster truck
that was almost certainly my contribution,
but the memory
bobs to the surface
occasionally,
and I always smile

about that
practical girl
and envy her
just a little.

One Response to “Regular Poem: Dream Car”

  1. Silver Screenings 5 May 2016 at 5:01 PM #

    Good point, using the word “dream” as a goal instead of fantasy. That would have tripped me up, too.

Leave a Reply

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

