Regular Poem: Job

8 Apr

Much is always said
about the patience of Job
but what of his grief?

He spends most of the book
lamenting
and questioning
and just being
sad.

My favorite
is when he says,
“Oh that I had given up the ghost,
and no eye had seen me.
I should have been
as though I had not been;
I should have been
carried from the womb
to the grave.”

It’d be melodramatic
to apply those King James words
to my own circumstances
but
who hasn’t said to themselves
at some point–
as the Amplified Version puts it–
“I am weary of my life
and loathe it!
I will give free expression
to my complaint;
I will speak
in the bitterness
of my soul.”

Me, too, brother.
Yeah, I guess
I don’t have boils
and all my children aren’t dead
and my friends aren’t telling me
God is punishing me because of my sin
and my wife isn’t telling me to curse God and die.

But anyway,
the point is,
God never retracts his statement
that Job is righteous–
even through his misery
and monologues and moanings of mourning.

He’s angry and sins not.
He questions and sins not.
He’s sad and sins not.

Because those feelings aren’t sins.
Notice he doesn’t actually
curse God and die.

He’s just sad.
And that’s ok.
He doesn’t expect
a reward,
and he never gets
the answers he wants.
He repents and praises
and God does
what God wills,
and of course

there’s no rest for the wicked
and the righteous don’t need any.

2 Responses to “Regular Poem: Job”

  1. Silver Screenings 9 April 2016 at 6:42 AM #

    Job really is a remarkable character (if you can call him that). And you’re right – much is made of his patience, and rightfully so, but not of his grief.

    I am wondering… Do you think Job’s wife told him to curse God + die not out of anger, but because she felt helpless to alleviate his suffering?

    • TheBestofAlexandra 9 April 2016 at 4:00 PM #

      Well, she does ask right before that why he insists on retaining his integrity, so I assumed she was just projecting on him her own feelings. I mean, they were her children, too. If we’d gotten a little more from her perspective, she’d probably seem like Naomi–who changed her very name to bitterness when her sons died (and then sarcastically asked her daughters-in-law whether they’d wait for her to have more sons). I’d love to read a book about Bitter Women of the Bible. Ha! But that’s an interesting thought, and I’ll certainly be haunted by it as I continue reading Job in my quiet time. Thanks for all your comments and support, blog friend!

Leave a Reply

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

