Regular Poem: I Don’t Know about You

3 Apr

It
feels like a perfect night
to clean the spare room,
listen to blues on the back porch
ah ah ah ah
It
feels like a perfect night
to make an expenses spreadsheet,
hang out in my hammock
ah ah ah ah
We’re happy free confused and lonely at the same time
It’s miserable and magical
oh yeah
Tonight’s the night we shave our legs
it’s time
oh yeah

I don’t know about you
but T. Swift
does not typically write songs about my life.
I’m not complaining,
and I know exactly why.

I’ve got a short list of ex-lovers
who’ll tell you I’m perfectly reasonable
although sometimes rather cutting
in the heat of an argument

does not fit well
into any song structure I’ve come across.

But it’s not as if
Katy Perry’s penning ditties about
my last Friday night

Last Friday night
I worked a double
read some grammar articles online
and a chapter of Proverbs


Last Friday night
I did shoulders and traps at the gym
sang Rose’s Turn to my dog
drank alone in my garage

And Drake doesn’t know what I’m about either

You used to call me on my cell phone
but now you text me
because that’s what I prefer
because it’s more efficient

But it’s all ok.
We’ve all got our own
stuff
and we can indulge and express ourselves
together or separately
sympathetically or vicariously
and if not
we can just
shake it off.

Leave a Reply

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

