Regular Poem: References

7 Mar

[1]

Hello, this is she.

Oh, yes, of course.

If only for more words
to express
my deep admiration
for this
pinnacle of humanity:

a beam of hope,
a spark of the divine,
a singular ray
glimmering in the gloom–
brightly and humbly
walking in robes of
wisdom, charm,
grace, empathy.

And yes,
she is the ideal
candidate
for this position.

Any position.

All positions.

[2]

Hello, this is she.

Sure, of course.

Yes, she is
an extraordinary individual:
quick, funny, organized.

More so than others?
Yes, I can say with certainty.
A memorable personality,
well-suited to the profession.

[3]

Hello, yes.

Sure, yes.

She is–
or was when
I knew her
a year and a half ago–
driven, intellectual,
forthright,
sometimes flippant,
often late,
a snappy dresser.

I rather hated her
politics,
but
her lipstick was nice.

Yes, probably a good fit.

[4]

Hello.

Ok.

Yes, I vaguely recall
she was

a person
whom I knew,
and she was
human
in some ways–

cute hair
and a big mouth.

Um, sure.
She could do a job.

[5]

Hello.

What?

Yes, well.

She may or may not
be a character
with characteristics
that are both
good and bad
at points.

May I be frank?

Please give her the position.
Please.
If I have to give
one more reference,
I will strangle someone,
and it will probably be

an HR coordinator.

And you don’t want that
blood on your hands.

4 Responses to “Regular Poem: References”

  1. Silver Screenings 8 March 2015 at 9:46 PM #

    Ha ha – this has a place near and dear to me, having given many surprise references myself. Some of them were for co-workers with whom I worked 2-3 years previously, and no warning they were going to use me as a reference! I think this is a poem to keep handy for the next time… 🙂

    • TheBestofAlexandra 8 March 2015 at 9:49 PM #

      Lol! The woman I wrote this about has been a reference for me for years now, and she’s a wonderful woman, but I just wonder if she gets tired of talking about me to strangers over and over.

      • Silver Screenings 8 March 2015 at 9:50 PM #

        No, I bet she doesn’t. Even though I have been blind-sided by reference calls many, MANY times, I love giving references. I can tell at exactly which point the caller has decided to hire the person I’ve been raving about. It’s my super power.

      • TheBestofAlexandra 8 March 2015 at 9:52 PM #

        That makes me feel slightly better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

