Regular Poem: Joke’s on You, Pirate

4 Apr

I used to
write a lot of rage poems,
songs of sadness, doleful odes of melacholia.

And I was feeling this way again
the other day:
romantically gloomy–like a glamorously depressed
Gothic heroine on a foggy moor,
filled with two parts self-loathing,
one part psychologically revealing nightmares,
one part staunch determination to prove myself–
and had even scheduled a time
to cry in the shower about it,

but I couldn’t
somehow
reach into that place
anymore,
that heart broken open
like a treasure chest
some pirate has bashed the lock on
to reveal
gold doubloons made of tears and regret.

I stood staring
at the raided treasure chest,
lamenting the pirate who had absconded
with all my words.

I had followed the treasure map so well
and had found the cave
where the booty should be,
yet instead of forlorn rubies and blue diamonds,
it was empty,
barely echoing still with
fleeting peels of angry cursing
and a far-off flintlock’s woeful last shot.

And I couldn’t even find the energy
to be mad about it.

And I realized
I had been following the map
by muscle memory, autopilot.
The pirate had taken something
I hadn’t ever wanted in the first place.

3 Responses to “Regular Poem: Joke’s on You, Pirate”

  1. Silver Screenings 5 April 2014 at 7:53 AM #

    LOVE the ending here. Bravo!

    • TheBestofAlexandra 6 April 2014 at 12:43 PM #

      I had the feeling you’d be the kind of person who might like more piracy in her poetry.

  2. thelastthingido1 4 March 2015 at 10:57 AM #

    I really like this poem. I can relate to that sort of feeling, or loss of feeling. I always called it ‘teenage angst’, lol, but you do loose it somewhere along the way. I don’t miss my emo goth poetry phase 😉

Leave a Reply

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

It's me, Charlotte.

In dreams we enter a world that is entirely our own.

