Regular Poem: Somebody ought to

30 Dec

Somebody
really ought to take me
out

some night
when the stars
are loud
in their brightness
and the moon
is a big promising
loaf of reflected light
and the weather is just right
for a convertible
ride and a sheer scarf
and no
stockings.

Somebody
really ought to take me
somewhere
chic and spectacular

and let me mingle and graze.

I’ve got a pretty
husky
voice I use after a
glass of wine

and a bevy of charming
cliches to say in it.

Somebody
really ought to take me
on his arm
and let me
flirt
rather condescendingly
with people he doesn’t like
for his amusement.

I’ve been experimenting
with updos,
and each is more glamorous
than the last.

I have a lot of interesting scars,
and if the company’s right
I can entertain for hours
just elucidating,
but I don’t have to,
of course.

My leopard-print pumps are out of
commission, but I’ve got other
pumps
in an array of colors.

And most importantly–
I’ve learned my lesson
on this–
I won’t bring up Xena, Warrior Princess

unless she is absolutely germane
to the conversation at hand.

2 Responses to “Regular Poem: Somebody ought to”

  1. silverscreenings 1 January 2014 at 12:05 PM #

    I hope this describes your New Year’s Eve…but if not, I hope it was wonderful anyway.

    All the best to you in 2014!

    • TheBestofAlexandra 1 January 2014 at 12:41 PM #

      This does not, in fact, describe my New Year’s, but I I did have a good one.
      I hope you did, too! And Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

It's me, Charlotte.

In dreams we enter a world that is entirely our own.

