Regular Poem: Memory has feathers, too

27 Sep

If
hope is
the thing with feathers,
what
is memory?

Memory
has feathers, too,
but
it’s not a bird,
and
it doesn’t sing tunes.

It’s a cheap boa
from a novelty store,
and at one time it was a complete entity,
but since that one moment–
when it was complete–
it has lost its feathers
all over
the house,
and you find them in the most
unusual places.

And you can string them together again
and hot glue them–
if that’s a thing anyone would ever try to do–
but it’s never whole again.

And it has that weird powdery smell to it
that you would recognize anywhere but
can’t really describe.

6 Responses to “Regular Poem: Memory has feathers, too”

  1. Leslie's Illusions 28 September 2013 at 5:00 AM #

    Beautiful. I’m not a huge poetry fan, but I love this. Thanks!

    • TheBestofAlexandra 28 September 2013 at 10:31 AM #

      Poetry can certainly be a mixed bag, but I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Charlene Woodley 28 September 2013 at 5:28 PM #

    I love the analogy here! Your description of the feathers being lost all over the house only to be found in unusual places was an awesome pinpoint. Great poem. 🙂

    • TheBestofAlexandra 28 September 2013 at 6:19 PM #

      Thanks! I was going to go a totally different direction with this poem, but then the image of all the feathers came to me. I’m glad I went with it, I guess. 🙂

      • Charlene Woodley 28 September 2013 at 6:34 PM #

        I’m glad you did it this way. For me personally, it precisely describes how the memory begins to change (or in my case, completely refuse to function periodically :)) during peri-menopause. It sucks, but you hit the nail on the head. I loved it!

      • TheBestofAlexandra 28 September 2013 at 6:57 PM #

        Haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

