Regular Poem: Some thing

8 Aug

Some
thing
is beating in my chest,
jumping
around,
leaping, seeping
out of my skin,
bouncing out in my bouncing
foot.

It’s like
there’s a new outfit waiting in my closet,
something glamorous and
I haven’t worn it yet
but I know I will be fabulous in it
because it fits just right and it’s a perfect color
and the shoes show off my legs
and I can’t wait to wear it.

It’s like
there’s a cast list up
with my name on it and
the role includes everything I’m awesome at
and I’ve already got half of the lines memorized
and I have insane chemistry with the rest of the ensemble.

It’s like
there’s a boy across town
waiting for me to text him
so we can stay up all night
driving around in his convertible
and then eat breakfast somewhere
that has delicious pancakes.

It’s like
some
anticipation
of some
thing
that will be fulfilled
soon and fully and spectacularly.

And I feel it bubbling, effervescing,
and I can’t stop
smiling about the
thing–
I don’t know what it is–
this
thing
that hasn’t happened yet.

And maybe
I’m just hungry.

Or maybe
that thing
will happen.

And maybe I will
recognize it
as the thing.

Leave a comment

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Only Fragments

Love Letters to the Tar Pit

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

MAC Awake

Books | Narratives | Medicine | Anaesthesia

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture