Regular Poem: Confession (to My Sixteen-Year-Old Friend)

21 Apr

Sometimes

when I do something
awful,
which I awfully often
do,

I think of you.

And I think
that you would probably
not think
it was so awfully
awful;
however,

the thing
(fill in name of transgression here)
is not something
I would endorse,
(on a real day, in my real life, with my real faculties in real tact)
and

I want to be a good role model,
you know,

a woman of integrity, ideals,
etc.

I want to do only
lovely things,
things of good report,
things that suffereth long and are kind.

Of course, I want to do these things
always.

But I think
(whether you think so or not)
you deserve to know

somebody
who will
firmly insist
(in lasting deeds as well as fleeting words)
that some things are wrong
and some things are right
and some things are ugly.

And that’s why I think
(whether you think so or not)
you liked me in the first place.

So, now,
I feel as though I’ve
let you down
somehow
when I
incredulously
drive off my own moral precipice
and splash
flabbergasted
into a muddy and cold lake
of iniquity.

2 Responses to “Regular Poem: Confession (to My Sixteen-Year-Old Friend)”

  1. silverscreenings 21 April 2013 at 7:51 PM #

    “A muddy and cold lake of iniquity” = well said.

    • TheBestofAlexandra 25 April 2013 at 11:26 PM #

      And to think I almost changed it to “murky” instead of “muddy”…

Leave a Reply

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

