Regular Poem: Oh no.

13 Dec

So all these spam poems have been taunting me to write a regular poem.  So I did.  It’s maudlin, and kinda dumb.  But here it is.

Oh no.

I’m one of
those people

who hears a song on the radio and
thinks of you.

I heard it tonight, and
I came home and–

Well, last night I came home and
found my dog–the one you got me, yes that one–had had
an accident–
quelle surprise–
in his cage, and

the smell had permeated
the entire house, crept
into the window dressings, crawled
into my bed, splashed
gleefully into the water left
stagnant
in the tub that had not drained.  And
I said,

“Oh no.”

And some other things as well, and
I gave him a bath outside when
it was 20 degrees, and
steam rose off his hide, and
I could have cried.
But I didn’t.

So the dogs were not inside when
I arrived home tonight,
sad from hearing that song that
reminded me of you.

And the dog train–
cavalcade of a couple of canines–
choo-chooed past me and
jumped on the couch, and
my voice was screechy as a train whistle to my own ears
as I said,

“Oh no

you don’t!  Get on the dog bed!” and
my voice grew louder and screechier as
the dogs grew deafer.  And
I finally had to threaten physical violence
before they moved.

And still that smell was
in my nostrils.

And still that song was
in my head.

And still–

Oh no.

4 Responses to “Regular Poem: Oh no.”

  1. 247southernvoice 13 December 2012 at 10:41 PM #

    Okay, so I honestly didn’t see the Regular in the headline, and thought this was another spam poem…and I thought, Wow, for spam it’s not that bad. Then I saw the regular and thought, OH crud……excellent choice of word, that. “Maudlin” is an adjective par excellence for this. 🙂

    • TheBestofAlexandra 15 December 2012 at 12:07 PM #

      Lol! I love that you thought this was spam at first! Lol again!

  2. silverscreenings 15 December 2012 at 9:19 AM #

    I love this! It has lots of personality.

    Please promise me to never, ever, again introduce your work with these words: “It’s maudlin, and kinda dumb.”

Leave a Reply

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

It's me, Charlotte.

In dreams we enter a world that is entirely our own.

