It’s a Major Award!

23 Oct

So I guess The Urge to Write nominated me for this Liebster Award (which means love or something in German or something, right?  IDK, I took French, and I’m too busy being an award-winning blogger to check Google translate).

I want to take a minute to say that I am totally honored and somewhat flabbergasted about this turn of events, but I am also getting kind of a chain-mail vibe from it.  Like if I don’t accept my nomination and pass it on, Little Susie–who has cancer and is a burgeoning lesbian–will be bullied and die or something.

Nevertheless, I accept the nomination anyway.

To accept my nomination, I must complete the following tasks:

Thank my nominator (or in my case, nominatrix, as it were):

Thank you, The Urge to Write blogger.  I very much enjoy your Sunday Showdowns, and I’m honored by and shyly blushing about your wanting to know inane things about me.

Proudly display the award banner:

I was a Girl Scout for too long to ever refuse a badge!  So, see above.

Choose other bloggers to nominate:

Ask my nominees some questions:

  1. Batman and Leslie Knope are running against each other for POTUS.  Whom would you vote for and why?
  2. Identify and describe your very favorite dessert.
  3. In what outfit do you feel most confident and why?
  4. What “good” movie do you hate and why?

And finally, answer the 4 Questions Asked by My Nominatrix (or Tell 11 Facts about Me):

I’m a compliant sort, so I’ll just answer the questions.

1.  If you could be any fictional character, who would you be?

“Ooh girl! Don’t let her trick you into fangirling out!”

Um… Perhaps Captain Kathryn Janeway of the Starship Federation Voyager would be a logical choice:  Sassy, powerful, morally upright, carries large weaponry, occasionally wears fabulous outfits.  And all of this is done IN SPAAAAAACE!

2.  What do you see if you look out of your window right now as you’re answering this?

My backyard, in which there is

  • a patio, which is really a glorified concrete slab
  • a rickety bench we’re keeping around because…um…?
  • a movable firepit
  • the remains of Tish’s garden
  • a hammock strung between two trees in a very white trash fashion
  • a clothesline made of discarded phone cord strung between the same trees as the hammock
  • a picnic table on which I keep my cacti and ashtray
  • the back fence, which is overgrown with viney stuff that may or may not be honeysuckle and/or grapes
  • the garage

3. Where is your ideal place to live (real or fictional)?

I’m kind of vanilla about stuff like this.  I happen to really love Wichita, KS, although I’ve always daydreamed about living in the desert somewhere and driving an ancient convertible and wearing a lot of turquoise jewelry and blingtastic cowpoke boots every day.

4. What is your favorite bad movie?

I love a lot of bad movies.  My first instinct was to wax poetic about Face/Off, but when I checked Rotten Tomatoes, I realized to my chagrin that it was a good movie even though it feels delicious and sumptuously over-the-top and cheesy like a bad movie.

So I’m going with Superstar.

Molly Shannon and Glynis Johns in Superstar - 10/99

“And when I say booga booga, you booga booga.”

We’ve got an outcast who says ridiculous stuff, a stupid romance plot, a stupid let’s-put-on-a-show plot, a stage grandma, magical realism, plenty of quotable lines, death by clogging.  The movie has everything.  Divorce yourself from hating SNL movies, set your expectations to medium-low, and give it a shot.

Never fails to cheer me up.

6 Responses to “It’s a Major Award!”

  1. cruelladekill 25 October 2012 at 4:56 PM #

    Wow, thanks for recommending my blog! This is one flattered unicorn. 🙂

  2. 247southernvoice 26 October 2012 at 2:18 AM #

    Thanks again for recommending my blog. I am writing a response, and will include a link in it. 😀

  3. S. L. 27 October 2012 at 9:30 PM #

    I LOVE that you’d be Kathryn Janeway, I like Voyager almost (almost) as much as I like The Next Generation.

  4. cruelladekill 18 March 2013 at 10:14 PM #

    Just (finally) working on passing on this award nomination and realized I was supposed to answer these!:

    Batman and Leslie Knope are running against each other for POTUS. Whom would you vote for and why? Batman, because he takes a bite out of crime. Oh, wait, that wasn’t Batman…

    Identify and describe your very favorite dessert. Crème Brûlée because it’s got a nice custardy inside and a sugary crunchy top. LOVE.

    In what outfit do you feel most confident and why? My birthday suit. Shake what yo mama gave ya!

    What “good” movie do you hate and why? No Country for Old Men. I don’t like endings where there isn’t a strong resolution, and the pace throughout this movie was so slow. Really don’t care for it.

    • TheBestofAlexandra 15 April 2013 at 12:31 AM #

      I also didn’t like No Country for Old Men for the exact same reasons. But I kind of just hate the Coen Brothers for being pretentious hipsters anyway.

      • cruelladekill 15 April 2013 at 1:47 AM #

        You took the words right outta my mouth.

Leave a Reply

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

grapeling

it could be that

Life in a blog

All there is ever, is the now

Heartspring Stanley

A Heartspring Student Project

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

The League of Mental Men!

A Satirical Word In Your Shell-Like Ear

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English student who stalks Benedict Cumberbatch. If I'm not pressed against cake shop windows then I'm rambling on about the press.

Fangirl Therapy

All the Feels & How to Deal

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

iheartingrid

For the Love of Leading Ladies

Melanie's Life Online

Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Collective Thoughts Of My Journey

The liberation of my life, mind, and imagination that is no longer the part of the Collective..

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

